Searching For Silver: The Journey Begins

I’ve finally made the decision to grow out my silvery gray and black hair. I’ve been preparing myself for this change a year now, researching all the possibilities of how to do this as gracefully as possible. While finding articles on different ways to go about it, I dug a bit deeper, seeking words from other women as to WHY they made this choice, how they did it and their attitudes about aging and their thoughts about simply being considered “old”.

IMG_4797
Me, ten years ago, with my daughter Katie and her friend Rebecca. I’m sure I’m more silver now!

Lots of AHA moments have hampered my sleep this past week. I’ve realized that I’m still way too worried about what other’s think of me or how they perceive me. I’m ready to break this old habit. Ten years ago, I went through this same process, and was happy with my hair and the freedom it gave me, both financially and time spent doing what I loved doing instead of spending hours in a salon every two weeks. Then, my husband ended up in the hospital. While discussing tests with the young doctor assigned to his case, I was asked a few odd questions. The doctor then turned to my husband (who is a year older than me) and told him that his “mother” (yup, he was referring to ME!) could be present during one of the tests. I freaked out. I wasn’t ready to be seen as THAT much older than my husband. It still took me six months to make the decision to color my hair again. More than the money and time I would spend, I felt inauthentic coloring my hair again. That bothered me more than anything else.

My attitude toward this transition means everything. I’m aging, and I’m ok with that. Looking OLD, I found, I’m not so ok with lol! Then I realized that being OLD is a frame of mind. There are some people who are born old, not the wise kind of old, but the type of old that is wearing, boring, dreary and stunting. I loooove life, love MY life, and am the type of person who wants to celebrate and grow and create. I choose other people to share this life I have, in a positive, supportive and joyful way. So, I don’t consider myself to be old. Aging, yes, but not OLD. See the difference?

I’m very lucky to have a partner who also supports me on this journey. He actually suggested that we buy some fun wigs then shave my head so my lovely gray could all grow out at one time! We’ve since decided not to throw a shave-Mom’s-head party, however! He and I first met when I was seventeen, and got to know each other when we re-met two years later. We got married a week after I turned twenty-one, and he turned twenty-two a week after that. He’s seen me age all this time, and tells me I’m more beautiful now than I was then. That’s love for ya lol!

I think it’s time I stop trying so damn hard to look attractive to anyone but myself and yes, my husband. If my hair color stops another human being from wanting to have a simple conversation with me, then so be it. I’m good with that.

Love ya bunches,
DoriSignature

14 thoughts on “Searching For Silver: The Journey Begins

  1. Your hair was beautiful in that picture, a lovely silver! I say go for it! How freeing not to be a slave to the hair dye, and while you may be silver, it’s a very pretty silver. Very shiny, not dull or gray at all! Good luck with it! (Worse case scenario, you don’t like it, dye it back, and you can try again in another 10 years!) πŸ™‚

  2. I think you’re gorgeous and no hairdo is going to make you look less so. I have been toying (for many years) with shaving my head and staying bald for the rest of my life, so I’m probably not the best person to go to for hair advice. Wigs are sweaty!

      1. You’re even more gorgeous when you smile. (You’ve got me thinking about the hair on my head and I was considering shaving my head today, but my last, little pink,plastic razor thingy has been worn down by my daily leg stubble, which means I’d have to leave the house to get another six pack. I’m comfortable here chatting away, so that’s not happening.)

  3. It will be so great! We’ve talked about this before, I know—I started going grey when I was seventeen and I just let it go until last year when (at 44) I started empurpling it. But even so, I don’t bother with roots and full coverage and all that because life is too damn short. Enjoy the grey! And if it bores you, throw down some funky streaks!

    1. Yessss ma’am! You’ve inspired me girlfriend! I’m thinking I’ll chop it off tomorrow to get ready for this process….something funky and spiky!!! And yes, maybe some fuschia streaks in the future!
      ~Dori

  4. I had auburn hair in my youth but middle age arrived while I was working in Corporate America and hair dye became a necessity. Then I was use to it and kept doing it. 2014 was a challenging year with lots of stuff I couldn’t control and thought the decision to see what was under all that hair dye was something I could do. Wow was it an ugly process for about 4-6 months. But, it finally came in different shades of silver and the back is darker than I would have ever imagined, but I love the real me. Best thing I did in 2014. By the way, your hair looks lovely in the photo. πŸ™‚

    1. Oh Judy, thank you so much for your support, and sharing your process! I ended up cutting my hair short to help the journey along. I’ll reassess my style after my “sexy silver” totally grows in. I’m loving what I’m seeing so far!
      Hugs,
      ~Dori

Leave a Reply

